Brainerd Lakes Area Community Foundation

Group of Children

Nominate Today

Nominate an individual, couple or family for the BLACF Award in Philanthropy.

Nominations due by January 10, 2020.

Click Here For Online Nomination Form

Award in Philanthropy

This award recognizes the efforts of an individual, couple, or family who have significantly contributed to the field of philanthropy in the region—either through their personal philanthropy, their work as a volunteer, or through their work as a professional in advising their clients about philanthropy.

The Award in Philanthropy was created in an effort to honor those who work to build a better community and inspire the next generation of philanthropic leaders.


Dutch and Irma CragunCragun_photo_for_website.png

Dutch and Irma Cragun have a history. Craguns Resort was founded in the 1940’s and has been operating in the family for more than 75 years, employing thousands of people during that time. They have assisted with the growth and development of the Brainerd Lakes Area tourism industry. However, it is the Cragun’s passion for the arts and their commitment to veterans that makes them truly deserving of receiving the Award in Philanthropy.

Click here to learn more about Dutch and Irma Cragun.


Past Honorees

  • 2019 - Dutch and Irma Cragun
  • 2018 - The Ruttger Family
  • 2017 - Stewart C. Mills Jr.
  • 2016 - Jim and Linnea Anderson
  • 2015 - Lee and Penny Anderson
  • 2013 - Paul and Lynn Hunt
  • 2012 - Kevin Thesing
  • 2011 - Kevin Close and Rod Converse
  • 2010 - The Cote Family
  • 2009 - JoAnn and Arnie Johnson
  • 2008 - Kathy and Bruce Buxton
  • 2007 - Linda and Bernie Roberts
  • 2006 - Fran and Clarence Holden
  • 2005 - John Sullivan